Back to home
InfinyTaleInfinyTale

Yoto vs Toniebox: which one is right for your child?

Both play stories without a tablet: a Yoto when you put a card in the slot, a Toniebox when you stand a figure on top. What decides between them is mostly your child's age, then what the stories cost over the years. Here is the comparison from both makers' own US and UK pages, and the one place where they meet: a story you made yourself.

We make neither. InfinyTale is a story app, not a player, and this page has no affiliate links. Every fact below is from Yoto's or tonies' own pages, linked under Sources and checked on October 6, 2026. Prices change, so check before you buy. Something out of date? Write to info@infinytale.com.

The short answer

Your child is under three
Toniebox. Its maker, tonies, certifies the Toniebox 2 and the Toniebox Lite for children from age one; in the Toniebox 2's mode for under-threes it can't play while charging and the sunrise alarm is off. Yoto says its players are for three and up, and for younger children only with an adult.
No screen at all
Toniebox. It has no display, only a light ring on the Toniebox 2. Both Yoto players have a small pixel display that shows artwork, icons and the time.
A clock and a wake-up light for an older child
Yoto. Both Yoto players show the time and have an okay-to-wake display and alarms, and the Yoto Player is also a night light. The Toniebox 2 has a sunrise alarm that glows, but no clock.
Lots of your own recordings
Yoto. One Make Your Own card holds up to 100 tracks and five hours, and costs about $3 (£2) each in a ten-pack. A Creative-Tonie holds 90 minutes and costs $9.99 (£11.99), though it is also a figure your child can hold.
The cheapest way in
The Toniebox Lite, $79.99 (£59.99) in a set with one figure, or the older Yoto Mini (2024 Edition), $79.99 (£64.99) and on sale for $59.99 (£51.99) when we checked. The Lite has no light ring or alarm and its USB-C cable is sold separately; the 2024 Mini has no night light.
Cheaper stories over the years
Yoto. Most cards in Yoto's own store cost $7.99 to $14.99 (£5.99 to £10.99). Most Tonies cost $19.99 in the US (a few $14.99) and usually £14.99 in the UK. Yoto's app also has free radio, podcasts and a daily show.

The four newest models

Yoto Player, Yoto Mini, Toniebox 2 and Toniebox Lite compared, from the makers' own pages, checked October 6, 2026
FeatureYoto Player (4th Gen)Yoto Mini (4th Gen)Toniebox 2Toniebox Lite
Price, US$149.99 (pre-order, ships Oct 15)$109.99$129.99 box only, $149.99 with one Tonie$79.99 with one figure (a Creative-Tonie in the My Story Set)
Price, UK£119.99 (pre-order)£89.99£104.99 box only, £139.99 with three Tonies£59.99 with a Creative-Tonie
Stories come ona card in the slota card in the slota figure on topa figure on top
Screenpixel display: artwork, clockpixel displaynone (light ring)none
Night lightyes, the whole frontnothe light ringno
Clock and alarmclock, okay-to-wake, alarmsclock, okay-to-wake, alarmssunrise alarm, no clocksleep timer only
HeadphonesBluetooth or 3.5 mm jackBluetooth or 3.5 mm jackBluetooth, or wired via USB-C (UK: tonies' own headphones or adapter only)Bluetooth or wired
Battery (maker’s claim)up to 16 hup to 16 hup to 9 hup to 6 h
Maker’s stated age3+3+1+1+
Your own audioMake Your Own cards, one in the boxMake Your Own cards, one in the boxCreative-Tonies, sold separatelyCreative-Tonies (one in the My Story Set and the UK Story Set)
Waterkeep away from watersplash and dust resistant (IP67)not statednot stated

Yoto still sells the older Yoto Player 3rd Gen and Yoto Mini (2024 Edition), for less. Both play Yoto's interactive cards today, and the 3rd Gen Player also works as a Bluetooth speaker. The first Toniebox is no longer sold in the UK and not currently sold on tonies' US store. The battery figures are each maker's own claim, and neither says how it measured these models; for the older 3rd Gen Player, Yoto's 16 hours assumed audio playing for six of them.

Toniebox Lite vs Yoto Mini

The two small boxes are the cheaper way in, and they suit different children. The Toniebox Lite costs $79.99 (£59.99) with a figure, plays every Tonie and is certified from age one. It has no screen, no light ring and no alarm, claims up to 6 hours of battery, and its USB-C cable is sold separately. The Yoto Mini (4th Gen) costs $109.99 (£89.99) and weighs 185 g. It shows the time with an okay-to-wake display and alarms, claims up to 16 hours, is splash and dust resistant (IP67) and has a 3.5 mm headphone jack; Yoto says it is for three and up. The older Yoto Mini (2024 Edition) was on sale for $59.99 (£51.99) when we checked.

So for a one- or two-year-old, the Lite. For a child of three or more who takes it in the car, on holiday or to bed with headphones, the Mini.

Cards or figures: the real difference

Everything else follows from this. A Yoto card is a flat card with a chip in it that works like a key: put it in the slot, and the player downloads the audio the first time and keeps it. A Tonie is a figure that does the same from the top of the box. Both need Wi-Fi the first time each card or figure plays, and play offline after that.

A figure is a toy in its own right, and a one- or two-year-old can choose a story by choosing a character. A card is slimmer and cheaper, and a stack of them fits in a bag. That is the trade: the Toniebox is built for the youngest listeners, the Yoto for a longer run of years and a bigger collection at home.

What the stories cost

Over a few years, the stories cost more than the player. Most Yoto cards cost $7.99 to $14.99 in Yoto's US store (£5.99 to £10.99 in the UK), and digital titles start at $1.99. Yoto Club is optional: Explorer, with Yoto's own digital titles, is $4.99 a month or $39.99 a year (£3.99 / £29.99), and Collector adds one card credit a month for $10.99 (£7.99). Credits expire after twelve months. Free in the app: Yoto Daily, Yoto Radio, podcasts and sleep sounds.

Most Tonies have cost $19.99 in the US since May 2025 (a few $14.99), and usually £14.99 in the UK, where tonies also sells extra digital episodes. There is no content subscription; in the US a tonies Subscription sends figures at 10 to 20 percent off. Creative-Tonies can be filled from a free library that varies by country. The Toniebox 2 also plays Tonieplay: screen-free games that need a controller ($14.99 / £12.99) plus a game ($14.99 to $24.99; mostly £19.99 in the UK).

Your own stories on either one

Both have an empty version you fill yourself: the Make Your Own card for Yoto and the Creative-Tonie for the Toniebox.

Yoto Make Your Own card and Creative-Tonie compared, checked October 6, 2026
FeatureYoto Make Your Own cardCreative-Tonie
Price$17.99 for 5, $29.99 for 10 (£12.99 / £19.99)$9.99 each (£11.99)
Holdsup to 100 tracks and 5 hours90 minutes
FilesMP3, AAC or M4AMP3, M4A, AAC, WAV, FLAC, OGG and more
How you fill itrecord in the Yoto app, or upload at my.yotoplay.com; then link the card on the player (or, with a 4th Gen, by holding it to your phone)record or upload in the tonies app, or upload at my.tonies.com; the box syncs it
Change it lateryes, re-link the cardyes, replace the content

What families put on them: a grandparent reading a favorite book, a goodnight message, songs in the family's second language, and stories. The same MP3 file plays on a Make Your Own card and on a Creative-Tonie, so a story you own works on whichever box your child has.

Hear what one sounds like

Two stories from our library. Listen with the pictures, or download the MP3 and put it on a card or a Creative-Tonie.

Or one with your child as the hero

Their name, the world they love, and choices they make themselves. The first story is free.

Create your child's story

New since 2025

  • Yoto Player and Yoto Mini (4th Gen), September 2026. The Mini has shipped since September 30; the Player ships from October 15, 2026. At launch some of Yoto's interactive cards play without their interactive features and some, such as choose-your-own-adventure titles, don't play yet, and neither works as a Bluetooth speaker. Yoto says both are coming.
  • Toniebox 2, autumn 2025. A light ring, USB-C, a mode for children from one, and Tonieplay games, which work only on the Toniebox 2.
  • Toniebox Lite, August 2026 in the US, October in the UK. The cheapest box. It plays every Tonie, without Tonieplay, the light ring or an alarm.

Where each falls short

  • Yoto: at launch the 4th Gen plays only some interactive cards and can't be a Bluetooth speaker yet, and the Player ships from October 15. And there is a screen, however simple.
  • Toniebox: each Tonie costs more, and a Creative-Tonie holds 90 minutes. The Toniebox 2 has no 3.5 mm headphone jack, and in the UK only tonies' own USB-C headphones or adapter are supported for wired listening. In its mode for under-threes it can't play while charging. There is no clock, and the Toniebox Lite has no alarm or night light.

Questions parents ask

Yoto or Toniebox: which is better?

Neither in general; it depends on the child. For a child under three, the Toniebox: tonies certifies it from age one, it has no screen, and a figure is easy for small hands. For an older child the Yoto usually goes further: cheaper cards, a clock and okay-to-wake display, free radio and podcasts in the app, and five hours of your own audio on each Make Your Own card. The exception is games: Tonieplay, for ages three and up, runs only on the Toniebox 2.

Is the Toniebox worth it?

For a toddler, often yes. It is the only one of the two certified from age one, it has no screen, and the figures are toys in their own right. A library costs more to build: $19.99 for most Tonies in the US, against $7.99 to $14.99 for most Yoto cards. If you mainly want to play your own recordings, a Yoto Make Your Own card holds more for less.

Toniebox Lite or Yoto Mini?

For a child under three, the Toniebox Lite: tonies certifies it from age one, and it costs $79.99 (£59.99) with a figure. From three, the Yoto Mini (4th Gen, $109.99 / £89.99) does more: a clock and okay-to-wake display, up to 16 hours of battery against the Lite's 6, splash and dust resistance, and a 3.5 mm headphone jack.

Do Yoto cards work on a Toniebox, or Tonies on a Yoto?

No. A Toniebox plays Tonies and a Yoto plays Yoto cards. What works on both is your own audio: the same MP3 file goes on a Make Your Own card and on a Creative-Tonie.

Do I need a subscription?

No. Yoto Club is optional, from $4.99 (£3.99) a month, and the cards you buy play without it; Club content you linked to a card disappears if you cancel. tonies has no content subscription. In the US, a tonies Subscription sends figures at a discount, but you do not need it.

Do they work without Wi-Fi?

Yes, once a card or figure has played once. Both download the audio the first time and keep it on the player. Yoto's radio and podcasts stream, so those need Wi-Fi.

Do Yoto or Toniebox make AI stories?

Neither offers one. Yoto has no AI story feature and says it will label any use of AI. tonies tested an AI story generator with up to 1,000 UK users in 2023; it is not offered on tonies’ sites today. Both play MP3 files, though, so a story made elsewhere goes on a Make Your Own card or a Creative-Tonie.

Sources, checked October 6, 2026

Yoto: Yoto Player 4th Gen (US) · Yoto Player 4th Gen (UK) · Yoto Mini 4th Gen (US) · Yoto Mini 4th Gen (UK) · players compared · Player 4th Gen spec sheet · Mini 4th Gen spec sheet · Yoto Player 3rd Gen · Yoto Mini (2024 Edition) · 4th Gen and interactive cards · Bluetooth speaker mode · age guidance · Make Your Own · how much fits on a card · Make Your Own 10-pack (US) · Make Your Own 10-pack (UK) · Yoto Club (US) · Yoto Club (UK) · playing offline · card prices: store product feed (US) · card prices: store product feed (UK) · audio content and AI

tonies: Tonieboxes (US) · Toniebox 2 (US) · Toniebox 2 (UK) · Toniebox Lite (US) · Toniebox Lite (UK) · Toniebox Lite FAQ · Toniebox 1 and 2 compared · Toniebox 2 features · Toniebox 2 in 1+ and 3+ mode · sleep light and sunrise alarm · Toniebox 2 wired headphones (UK) · Toniebox 1, no longer available (UK) · US pricing 2025 · Tonies (UK) · digital episodes (UK) · Tonieplay controller (US) · Tonieplay (UK) · Creative-Tonie (US) · Creative-Tonies (UK) · Creative-Tonie file formats · why 90 minutes · how Tonies work · tonies Subscription (US) · AI generator test, 2023