AI bedtime story apps for kids, compared
Fifteen bedtime story apps side by side: whether your child is the hero, whether they get to choose what happens, whether an AI voice narrates it, how many pictures a story has, which languages it speaks, what it costs — and which ones hand you an MP3 for a Toniebox or a Yoto.
We make InfinyTale, one of the fifteen. So every fact about the others comes from their own website or app-store page, linked under each one and checked on 19 October 2026. “Not stated” means their pages do not say — not that the feature is missing. Prices are as shown there and change. Spotted something out of date? Write to info@infinytale.com and we will fix it.
The short answer
- Your child as the named hero, choosing what happens while the story plays
- InfinyTale (ours, with music, sound effects and pictures), TellieTales (iPhone, English), Moonbeam (iPhone, English, one picture a story) and VIVID Kids (pay per story, audio only). Lunii describes its FLAM device as interactive too, with stories from its catalogue.
- An MP3 for a Toniebox Creative-Tonie or a Yoto card
- InfinyTale (any story), VIVID Kids (download) and Kleiner Held (one German story for the Kreativ-Tonie). Lunii cannot import MP3s.
- Many languages
- Scarlett Panda (74 to 100+), Sleepytale (17), Readmio (13), Oscar Stories (10 on its website).
- Calm sleep stories rather than a personal story
- Moshi Kids — a large, professionally made library, not AI.
- You read aloud yourself
- Readmio adds music and sound effects as you read.
- A narrated story with pictures — how many?
- InfinyTale shows at least 10 pictures in every story; Bedtimestory.ai states 5 per story, StoryBee one per page, Bedtime Stories a cover and Moonbeam one illustration. Most other apps call their stories illustrated without giving a number.
- One story now and then, no subscription
- Bedtime Stories sells single stories at $2 (less in packs), StoryWonder sells coins, VIVID Kids and Kleiner Held sell single stories at €4.99.
At a glance
| App | Child is the hero | Chooses during the story | Narration and sound | Pictures per story | Languages | MP3 / Toniebox / Yoto | Platforms |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| InfinyTale(ours) | Yes | Yes | AI narration (ElevenLabs voices), music and sound effects | At least 10: one per scene, a second in about every other; more in longer stories | 5: English, German, Spanish, French, Croatian | Yes, any story — for a Creative-Tonie, a Yoto card or any player | Web; iPhone app coming |
| Oscar Stories | Yes | No | AI voices (“pleasant voices using AI technology”), provider not stated; music and effects not stated | Illustrated, number not stated; plus videos | 10 listed on its website | Not stated (printing offered) | iPhone, iPad, Android |
| StoryWonder | Yes | Not stated | AI voices (ElevenLabs v3, per its release notes); music and effects not stated | Illustrated (GPT Image), number not stated | Up to 11 for stories | Not stated | iPhone, iPad |
| Bedtimestory.ai | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | 5 per story | Not stated | Not stated | Web |
| Bedtime Stories | Yes | Not stated | AI voices (ElevenLabs, 100+ voices); your own cloned voice; music and effects not stated | 1 cover | Narrated in English | Not stated | Web, iPhone, Android |
| StoryBee | Yes | Not stated | AI narration, provider not stated; voice cloning; music and effects not stated | One per page | Not stated | Not stated (printed books offered) | Web |
| Moshi Kids | No | No | Narrated, voice type not stated (guest stories by Goldie Hawn and Patrick Stewart); music and sleep sounds | Not stated | English | Not stated | iPhone, iPad, Android |
| Scarlett Panda | Yes | Not stated | Audio as a paid add-on, voice type not stated; lullabies | Illustrated, number not stated | 74 (homepage) or more than 100 (FAQ) | Offline download; Toniebox / Yoto not stated | Web (Android app in development) |
| Sleepytale | Not stated | Not stated | Cleo reads; 21 narrators, voice type not stated; voice cloning, music and soundscapes | Not stated | 17 (Croatian not among them) | Offline download; Toniebox / Yoto not stated | iPhone, Android, web, smart speakers |
| TellieTales | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | English | Not stated | iPhone, iPad |
| Moonbeam | Yes | Yes | Six narrators, voice type not stated; background music | 1 illustration | English | Not stated | iPhone |
| VIVID Kids | Yes | Yes | Narrated, voice type not stated; music and effects not stated | None (audio only) | Website in English and German; app in English | Yes, as a download; Toniebox / Yoto not stated | iPhone |
| Kleiner Held | Yes | No | AI voice (“mit natürlicher KI-Stimme”), provider not stated; music and effects not stated | Not stated | German | Yes, an MP3 for the Kreativ-Tonie | Web |
| Readmio | No | No | You read aloud; music and sound effects added as you read. Ready-made audiobooks included | 1 cover, on purpose | 13 | Record your own reading | iPhone, Android, web |
| Lunii | In one title | Yes | Human storytellers (“without AI”) | None (screen-free) | One personalised title, in French | Device only — no MP3 import | Lunii device and app |
The fifteen apps
InfinyTaleours
AI audio dramas, made for your child
A child who wants to be the hero and decide what happens, with a real audio drama around it.
- Sound
- AI narration (ElevenLabs voices), music and sound effects
- Pictures
- At least 10: one per scene, a second in about every other; more in longer stories
- Price
- First story free; Family $5.99 / €5.95 a month (up to 8 stories), Family+ $13.99 / €13.95 (up to 20)
- Ages
- 3–12
The story stops at turning points and your child picks the way; sometimes it asks them to draw something into the scene. Stories last 5, 10 or 15 minutes, with a calmer bedtime mode. Every story can be replayed without limit, also after a plan ends. Written by AI for the child’s age band and checked by automated moderation.
Oscar Stories
AI story generator
Illustrated personalised stories in many languages, on a phone or tablet.
- Sound
- AI voices (“pleasant voices using AI technology”), provider not stated; music and effects not stated
- Pictures
- Illustrated, number not stated; plus videos
- Price
- First stories free; $4.99 a month or $39.99 a year (US App Store)
- Ages
- 4+ (App Store: made for 6–8)
You choose setting, characters and plot, then the app writes the story; its pages describe no choices while it plays. Its FAQ says there is no inappropriate content and no advertising.
Sources, checked 19 October 2026: oscarstories.com · oscarstories.com · apps.apple.com · apps.apple.com
StoryWonder
AI stories, also in licensed worlds (PLAYMOBIL, BABY born)
Personalised stories in worlds a child already knows from toys.
- Sound
- AI voices (ElevenLabs v3, per its release notes); music and effects not stated
- Pictures
- Illustrated (GPT Image), number not stated
- Price
- No subscription: coins from $1.99 / €1.99; 3–5 coins a story depending on length
- Ages
- 0–12 (App Store: made for 0–5)
Name, age, looks, hobbies, siblings and pets can go into the story; no choices while it plays are described.
Sources, checked 19 October 2026: apps.apple.com · apps.apple.com
Bedtimestory.ai
Illustrated AI story generator
Many illustrated stories to read, for a low monthly price.
- Sound
- Not stated
- Pictures
- 5 per story
- Price
- $4.99, $9.99 or $19.99 a month; every plan lists “unlimited personalised stories”
- Ages
- Not stated
Add your child as the hero and get an illustrated story in seconds; plans differ in how many pop-up books they include.
Sources, checked 19 October 2026: bedtimestory.ai · bedtimestory.ai
Bedtime Stories
Pay-per-story AI bedtime stories with AI narration
A narrated English story now and then, paid one at a time.
- Sound
- AI voices (ElevenLabs, 100+ voices); your own cloned voice; music and effects not stated
- Pictures
- 1 cover
- Price
- $2 a story, $8 for 5, $15 for 10; no subscription
- Ages
- 3–12
“Your child is the hero of every story.” A Narrator or Full Cast mode; no choices while the story plays are described.
Sources, checked 19 October 2026: bedtime-stories.fun · bedtime-stories.fun · bedtime-stories.fun · apps.apple.com
StoryBee
AI stories with voice cloning and print
Hearing a story in a parent’s cloned voice, or ordering it printed.
- Sound
- AI narration, provider not stated; voice cloning; music and effects not stated
- Pictures
- One per page
- Price
- $7, $15 or $29 a month (promotional prices); story generation on paid plans only
- Ages
- 3–12
“Build your own hero of your story.” Its pages say “No ads, ever.”
Sources, checked 19 October 2026: storybee.app · storybee.app
Moshi Kids
Sleep stories, sounds and music (not AI, not personalised)
Winding down with a large, professionally made library rather than personal stories.
- Sound
- Narrated, voice type not stated (guest stories by Goldie Hawn and Patrick Stewart); music and sleep sounds
- Pictures
- Not stated
- Price
- $12.99 a month or $79.99 a year (US App Store); €9.99 / €49.99 on its website; 7-day trial
- Ages
- 0–12 (App Store: made for 0–5)
Hundreds of hours of stories, sleep sounds and music, including guest stories narrated by Goldie Hawn and Patrick Stewart. “100% ad-free & Kid-Safe.” An App Store Editors’ Choice.
Sources, checked 19 October 2026: moshikids.com · apps.apple.com
Scarlett Panda
AI stories, storybooks and lullabies
Stories in a language almost no other app offers.
- Sound
- Audio as a paid add-on, voice type not stated; lullabies
- Pictures
- Illustrated, number not stated
- Price
- First 3 stories free (homepage); $9.90 a month or $79 a year
- Ages
- Early readers to pre-teens
You decide the characters’ names. Audio for a storybook costs $9.90 per 10-chapter book; printed books $49.
Sources, checked 19 October 2026: scarlettpanda.com · scarlettpanda.com · scarlettpanda.com
Sleepytale
A voice-chat companion that makes stories and lullabies
A child who likes to talk a story into being, and families with smart speakers.
- Sound
- Cleo reads; 21 narrators, voice type not stated; voice cloning, music and soundscapes
- Pictures
- Not stated
- Price
- Free library; Pro $14.99 a month or $49.99 a year
- Ages
- Babies to older children
Your child chats with “Cleo”, who asks questions back and builds the story from the answers; whether choices continue while the story plays is not stated. “No ads, no autoplay.”
Sources, checked 19 October 2026: sleepytale.com · apps.apple.com
TellieTales
Interactive AI bedtime stories
English-speaking families on an iPhone who want frequent choices.
- Sound
- Not stated
- Pictures
- Not stated
- Price
- 5 free stories a month; $4.99 a month or $39.99 a year
- Ages
- 3–9
“Stories pause every 1–2 minutes for your child to decide what happens next”, with up to 6 decision points in Adventure Mode. Personalised with name, pet, best friend and hometown. COPPA compliant and ad-free.
Source, checked 19 October 2026: apps.apple.com
Moonbeam
AI bedtime stories with an interactive mode
A low-priced English bedtime app where the child can make choices.
- Sound
- Six narrators, voice type not stated; background music
- Pictures
- 1 illustration
- Price
- $2.99 a month or $19.99 a year
- Ages
- Not stated (App Store 4+)
“Decide where the story goes and make choices.” Your child can be the main character. Last updated in May 2025.
Source, checked 19 October 2026: apps.apple.com
VIVID Kids
Pay-per-story interactive AI audiobooks
One longer interactive audiobook now and then, without a subscription.
- Sound
- Narrated, voice type not stated; music and effects not stated
- Pictures
- None (audio only)
- Price
- $4.99 / €4.99 per story, no subscription
- Ages
- 3–12
About 20 minutes, 4 decision points and up to 15 characters per story, in 5 episodes. No ads.
Sources, checked 19 October 2026: vivid.cx · vivid.cx · apps.apple.com
Kleiner Held
One personalised audio story for the Kreativ-Tonie
A single German story to put on a Kreativ-Tonie, bought once.
- Sound
- AI voice (“mit natürlicher KI-Stimme”), provider not stated; music and effects not stated
- Pictures
- Not stated
- Price
- €4.99 one-off (shown reduced from €12.48)
- Ages
- 3–8
Name, age and favourite theme go in; an MP3 download comes out.
Source, checked 19 October 2026: kleinerheld.com
Readmio
You read aloud, the app adds sound (not AI, not personalised)
Parents who want to read aloud themselves and make it sound like a show.
- Sound
- You read aloud; music and sound effects added as you read. Ready-made audiobooks included
- Pictures
- 1 cover, on purpose
- Price
- $5.99–12.99 a month, $39.99–49.99 a year, or $159 lifetime
- Ages
- 4+
Over 500 stories. Speech recognition runs offline on the device and no recordings are stored.
Sources, checked 19 October 2026: readmio.com · apps.apple.com
Lunii
Screen-free storyteller devices and a curated catalogue
A screen-free device with professionally made stories.
- Sound
- Human storytellers (“without AI”)
- Pictures
- None (screen-free)
- Price
- Devices from €69.90; Lunii+ trial 3 months for €6.90; personalised title €14.90
- Ages
- 0–14
Lunii describes “an interactive audio experience where the child chooses, decides”, and its FLAM device as “audio stories where the child is the hero”. One title, Les Farfadets de Fondujardin, lets you choose the main characters’ names and the hero’s appearance before listening.
What about the Toniebox and the Yoto?
They are players, not story apps, and both take your own audio: a Creative-Tonie holds 90 minutes you record or upload in the mytonies app, and a Yoto Make Your Own card plays MP3 or AAC files. Yoto has no AI story generator and says it will label any AI use. tonies tested an AI story generator with a small group of families in 2023; it is not offered on tonies.com today. So an app that hands you an MP3 is what fills either one — see our guides to the Kreativ-Tonie and the Yoto card, and Yoto vs Toniebox if you are choosing between the two.
When InfinyTale is not the best choice
- You need another language. We have five. Scarlett Panda, Sleepytale, Readmio and Oscar Stories cover far more.
- You want an Android app today. InfinyTale runs in the browser on any phone, and the iPhone app is coming; Oscar, Moshi, Readmio and Sleepytale are on Android now.
- You want stories written by people. Ours are written by AI. Moshi Kids and Readmio are not AI, and Lunii’s catalogue is read by human storytellers.
- You want one story, not a plan. Our first story is free, then it is a monthly plan or a pack of minutes; Bedtime Stories, StoryWonder, VIVID Kids and Kleiner Held sell single stories.
- You want as many new stories as possible. Our plans make a set number of new stories a month; Bedtimestory.ai lists unlimited stories on every plan.
Where it fits: no other app here states all of it together — your child as the named hero, choices while the story plays, narration with music and sound effects, a picture for every scene, an MP3 for the Toniebox or Yoto, in English, German, Spanish, French and Croatian.
Questions parents ask
Which AI bedtime story apps let my child choose what happens?
Among the apps compared here, InfinyTale, TellieTales, Moonbeam and VIVID Kids say on their own pages that the child makes choices while the story plays. Lunii describes its FLAM device as an interactive audio experience, with stories from its catalogue. Oscar Stories lets you choose the setting, characters and plot before the story is written.
Which bedtime story apps work with a Toniebox or a Yoto?
A Creative-Tonie and a Yoto Make Your Own card both play MP3 files. InfinyTale lets you download any story as an MP3, VIVID Kids gives you a download, and Kleiner Held sells one German story as an MP3 for the Kreativ-Tonie. Yoto itself has no AI story generator, and tonies tested one in 2023 without launching it.
Which ones can I try for free?
InfinyTale’s first story is free, Oscar Stories’ first stories are free, Scarlett Panda offers its first stories free, TellieTales gives 5 free stories a month, Sleepytale has a free library and Moshi Kids a 7-day trial.
Which apps narrate with an AI voice, and which have pictures?
InfinyTale narrates with ElevenLabs voices and adds music and sound effects; Bedtime Stories and StoryWonder also name ElevenLabs. Oscar Stories, StoryBee and Kleiner Held say they use AI voices without naming one. For pictures, InfinyTale shows at least 10 in every story, Bedtimestory.ai 5, Bedtime Stories a cover and Moonbeam one; VIVID Kids and Lunii are audio only. Voice and pictures are the expensive part of an AI story, so they are worth checking when you compare prices.
Are AI bedtime stories safe for children?
Look at what each app says it does. InfinyTale writes every story for the child’s age band and checks it with automated moderation; Oscar Stories, StoryBee, Moshi Kids, TellieTales, Sleepytale and VIVID Kids state that they show no ads. If you would rather avoid AI-written stories altogether, Moshi Kids and Readmio are not AI, and Lunii’s catalogue is read by human storytellers.
Hear an InfinyTale story first
Two from our library, free to play with the pictures. Yours is made for your child, with their name and their own choices.
Ava and Pebble’s Spinning Rocket Adventure Beneath the Alien Stars
Listen to the storyRuby and Ethan’s Goodbye Hug Hunt Through the Squeaky Library
Listen to the storyOr one with your child as the hero
Their name, the world they love, and choices they make themselves. The first story is free.


